Marketing and sales budgets of law firms in times of crisis – where you have to invest now

Picture_DT-3-scaled

Cut budgets completely
Cut the entire marketing budget immediately. So you can be sure that you will remain unheard when your clients are looking for help. It may sound like an exaggeration, but that’s exactly the panic reaction that seems to create security at the first moment. After all, you need the money for your business – until it stops because there is no more sales.

Restructure budgets
It is much more important to restructure marketing budgets wisely now. Events, travel, paper brochures, advertisements in paper editions of media, etc. must be cancelled immediately. How large marketing budgets for law firms in general have to be, I once explained in this article in LTO.de: https://lawbusiness.de/marketing-budgets/.

SEO, Google and LinkedIn
You now need SEO, a strong Google ranking and a strong presence in social media like LinkedIn. In the latter you can not only buy premium accounts but also ads. A strong LinkedIn presence was already important before the sales crisis. I have almost 7,000 LinkedIn contacts in my target group – how many do you have?

WebCams & Videos – Professionally!
Invest in good webcams and work with strong online seminar providers to place your training there. But also train your employees how to make sales via web! Neither is everyone born to be a salesman nor can everyone act safely in front of a webcam. Do not underestimate this! You start again with your sales skills, because of course a WebCam cannot simulate the personal contact 1:1. Did you know for example that it looks threatening when you sit directly in front of the WebCam? You should sit at least 2 meters away so that you don’t look too frontal.
Operate – professional (!) – Videoblogs. It is essential to produce a blog at least every two weeks, which should not be longer than one minute.

Goals & Processes
But the mere shift to proven web techniques and legal tech (see our article on this subject: https://lawbusiness.de/legaltechbasics/) is far too little. Nor is it a priority. First you have to clearly define your marketing and sales goals. Especially in the current situation you have to work with scenarios. Simple example:
# Who do I sell Services X to?
# How do my clients’ requirements for Services X change when Y happens?
# What do I communicate to my clients via which channels when Y happens?
You also need to define processes for your marketing and sales services. Who is responsible for what and when should be a fixed part of your firm’s governance.

References & Content
Get references from your clients now. If you have done a good job, your clients will be happy to provide small quotes – within the framework of the confidentiality obligation, of course. If you are looking for a management consultant: Do you prefer the one with or without references? And yes, of course we have some: https://lawbusiness.de/clients/.
But how do I get to the content I am supposed to communicate via the many new channels? By regularly contacting your A/B clients via phone / web. Especially in times of crisis people are happy to be able to tell someone in detail where the shoe pinches them.

For further questions, I can refer you to https://lawbusiness.de/marketing/ and https://lawbusiness.de/business-development/ or you can contact me and my team directly.
Alexander Gendlin, Managing Partner Law Business, Bochum – Vienna

Share Post

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email

Budgets komplett streichen
Streichen Sie sofort das gesamte Marketingbudget. Igeln Sie sich ein, damit Sie garantiert ungehört bleiben, wenn Ihre Mandanten nach Hilfe suchen. Es mag wie eine Übertreibung klingen, jedoch ist das genau die Panikreaktion, die scheinbar Sicherheit schafft sich im ersten Moment aufdrängt. Schliesslich braucht man das Geld ja für den Betrieb – bis dieser stehenbleibt, weil kein Sales mehr stattfindet.

Budgets umschichten
Viel wichtiger ist es, jetzt Marketigbudgets klug umzuschichten. Events, Reisen, Prospekte, Inserate in Papierausgaben von Medien, etc. müssen sofort storniert werden. Wie groß Marketingbudgets für Kanzleien generell sein müssen, habe ich einmal in diesem Artikel in LTO.de erklärt: https://lawbusiness.de/marketing-budgets/.

SEO, Google und LinkedIn
Sie brauchen nun SEO, ein starkes Google-Ranking und eine starke Präsenz in Social Media wie LinkedIn. Im letzteres können Sie nicht nur Premium-Accounts sondern auch Inserate kaufen. Ein starke LinkedIn Präsenz war schon vor der Krise bez. Sales wichtig. Ich habe fast 7.000 LinkedIn Kontakte in meiner Zielgruppe – wieviele haben Sie?

WebCams & Videos – Professionell!
Investieren Sie in gute WebCams und arbeiten Sie mit starken Anbietern von Onlineseminaren zusammen, um dort Ihre Schulungen zu platzieren. Schulen Sie aber auch Ihre Mitarbeiter wie man Sales via Web macht! Weder ist jeder zum Salesman geboren noch kann jeder vor einer WebCam sicher agieren. Unterschätzen Sie das nicht! Sie beginnen mit Ihren Salesskills wieder neu, denn natürlich kann eine WebCam den persönlichen Kontakt nicht 1:1 simulieren. Wußten Sie zB dass es bedrohlich wirkt, wenn Sie direkt vor der WebCam sitzen? Sie sollten mindestens 2 Meter weg sitzen, damit Sie nicht zu frontal wirken.
Betreiben Sie – professionelle (!) – Videoblogs. Dabei ist es essenziell mindestens alle zwei Wochen einen Blog zu produzieren, der nicht länger als eine Minute sein darf.

Ziele & Prozesse
Aber die reine Umlagerung auf bewährte Webtechniken und Legal Tech (siehe unser Artikel dazu: https://lawbusiness.de/legaltechbasics/) ist bei weitem zu wenig. Und auch nicht prioritär. Zunächst müssen Sie Ihre Marketing- und Salesziele klar definieren. Speziell in der aktuellen Situation müssen Sie mit Szenarien arbeiten. Einfaches Beispiel:
– Wem verkaufe ich Services X warum?
– Wie ändern sich die Anforderungen meiner Mandanten an Services X wenn Y passiert?
– Was kommuniziere ich an meine Mandanten über welche Kanäle wenn Y passiert?

Ausserdem müssen Sie jetzt Ablaufprozesse für Ihre Marketing- und Salesservices definieren. Wer ist für was wann verantwortlich, sollte fixer Teil Ihrer Kanzlei-Governance sein.

Referenzen & Inhalte
Holen Sie jetzt Referenzen Ihrer Mandanten ein. Wenn Sie gut gearbeitet haben, werden Ihre Mandanten – im Rahmen der Geheimhaltungspflicht natürlich – sehr gerne kleine Zitate zur Verfügung stellen. Wenn Sie einen Unternehmensberater suchen: Nehmen Sie lieber den ohne oder den mit Referenzen? Und ja natürlich haben wir welche: https://lawbusiness.de/clients/.

Aber wie komme ich zu den Inhalten, die ich über die vielen neuen Kanäle kommunizieren soll? Indem Sie regelmässig Ihre A/B Mandanten via Phone / Web kontaktieren. Speziell in Krisenzeiten sind die Leute froh jemanden ausführlich sagen zu können wo sie der Schuh drückt.
Für weitere Fragen darf ich Sie auf https://lawbusiness.de/marketing/ und https://lawbusiness.de/business-development/ verweisen bzw. können Sie mich und mein Team gerne direkt kontaktieren.

Alexander Gendlin, Managing Partner Law Business, Bochum – Wien